Item added to your cart.

Display Artist
Catalogue Number
Release Date
May 19, 2023


Select bundle
  • Amatssou + Kel Tinariwen LP Bundle:

    Sold out
    • Amatssou Vinyl, 1×LP, Coloured Vinyl White vinyl

    • Kel Tinariwen Vinyl

    • + WAV / FLAC

    Available: May 19, 2023

  • Vinyl 1×LP, Coloured Vinyl

    Sold out

    White vinyl

    Read More
    • + WAV / FLAC


    • Printed inner sleeve in 3mm spine sleeve
    • 20 page booklet
    • Download code
  • Vinyl 1×LP

    Read More
    • + WAV / FLAC


    • Printed inner sleeve in 3mm spine sleeve
    • 20 page booklet
    • Download code
  • CD

    Read More
    • + WAV / FLAC


Some people have commented that Tinariwen have always been a country band, albeit a North African take on that most North American of genres. That idea is magnified on new album Amatssou, which finds the Tuareg band’s trademark snaking guitar lines and hypnotic rhythms blending seamlessly with pedal steel, piano and strings from guest musicians including Daniel Lanois, the embellished arrangements lending the songs an epic, universal application.

Full of poetic allegory, the lyrics call for unity and freedom. There are songs of struggle and resistance with oblique references to the recent desperate political upheavals in Mali and the increasing power of the Salafists. “Dear brothers all rest, all leisure will always be far from reach unless your homeland is liberated and all the elders can live there in dignity,” Ibrahim Ag Alhabib sings on ‘Arajghiyine.’ The album’s title Amatssou is Tamashek for ‘Beyond The Fear’ and it fits - Tinariwen have always been characterised by their fearlessness - and as Bob Dylan once said, the power of rock’n’roll is that it makes us “oblivious to the fear” as the music gives us the strength and resilience to confront adversity.

In the two decades since Tinariwen emerged from their base in the African desert to tour the globe, they have got to know many renowned country, folk, and rock musicians from the USA including Kurt Vile, Stephen O'Malley, Jack White, and Wilco. Tuareg nomads and cowboy drifters. Camel trains and mustang horses. The timeless horizon of the endless Sahara and the wild frontier of the Old West - several thousand miles of ocean may divide the desert blues of Tinariwen and the authentic country music of rural America but the links are as palpable as they are romantic.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Kek Alghalm 3:31 Buy

    Kek Alghalm

  2. 2 Tenere Den 3:32 Buy

    Tenere Den

  3. 3 Arajghiyine 3:58 Buy


  4. 4 Imzad (Interlude) 1:02 Buy

    Imzad (Interlude)

  5. 5 Tidjit 5:12 Buy


  6. 6 Jayche Atarak 5:59 Buy

    Jayche Atarak

  7. 7 Imidiwan Mahitinam 3:32 Buy

    Imidiwan Mahitinam

  8. 8 Ezlan 5:27 Buy


  9. 9 Anemouhagh 3:44 Buy


  10. 10 Iket Adjen 3:23 Buy

    Iket Adjen

  11. 11 Nak Idnizdjam 5:29 Buy

    Nak Idnizdjam

  12. 12 Tinde (Outro) 2:12 Buy

    Tinde (Outro)


View More


--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences